The Carthage Lady Bulldogs dominated play in the District 17-4A volleyball season with an undefeated 8-0 schedule.

As a result, the Lady Dawgs also dominated the all-district team with junior Faith Kruebbe leading the way as the Most Valuable Player.

Carthage ended up with 12 players and Coach Dawn Stewart selected for the honor squad.

Joining Kruebbe in getting special honors were Makhai Lewis (Offensive MVP) and Kaliyah Timmons (Blocker of the Year), while Talynn Williams, Mara Hodges and Erin Dodge were First Team selections; Ja’Kyra Roberts and Caroline Baldree were Second Team picks; and Haley Wink, Kennedy Stanley and Jaycee Page were honorable mention picks.

Stewart, who led the Lady Dawgs to their third straight undefeated district title, was named Coach of the Year in a vote by the league’s coaches.

The Lady Dawgs also had 11 players selected to the District 17-4A Academic All-District Team.

Kruebbe finished the season with a team-leading 243 kills, 286 digs, 19 blocks, 38 assists and 170 service points with 44 aces.

Lewis had 128 kills, 39 blocks, 59 service points and 12 aces; while Smith had 628 assists, 182 service points and 34 aces, 162 digs, 51 kills and 24 blocks; and Timmons had 104 kills and 33 blocks.

Dodge had 210 digs and 174 service points with 26 aces; Hodges had 96 kills, 92 digs and 90 service points with 22 aces; and Williams had 107 service points, 72 digs, 63 kills and 20 blocks.

Roberts had 62 kills and 37 blocks and Baldree had 38 kills and 16 blocks.


MVP: Faith Kruebbe, Carthage

Offensive MVP: Makhai Lewis, Carthage

Setter of the Year: Sadie Smith, Carthage

Blocker of the Year: Kaliyah Timmons, Carthage

Defensive MVP: Emi Etheridge, Rusk

Newcomers of the Year: Rylie Schwab, Palestine; Sarah Boudreaux, Rusk.

Coach of the Year: Dawn Stewart, Carthage


Carthage: Talynn Williams, Mara Hodges, Erin Dodge; Rusk: Kaycee Johnson, Faith Long, Kara Wofford; Palestine: Jan’Aa Johnson, Monique Thompson; Jasper: ShaCora Reed, JaKayla Brown; Center: Aniyah Boykins.


Carthage: Ja’Kyra Roberts, Caroline Baldree; Palestine: Mallory Mitchell, Corian Hudson; Jasper: Tytiauna McQueen, Jaleiah McDougal, Kiarra Sells, Ka’Dence Traylor; Center: Alex Patton; Rusk: Jazz Blankinship, Makenna Burkhalter, Isabel Torres.


Carthage: Haley Wink, Kennedy Stanley, Jaycee Page; Palestine: Kyi’Marri Ester, Kacie Dnachak; Rusk: Colleen Dover, Makayla Dowling, Carson Trawick; Jasper: Kalani Sells; Center: MaKaiya Hubbard.


Carthage: Caroline Baldree, Kennedy Stanley, Erin Dodge, Heaven Ingram, Faith Kruebbe, Makhai Lewis, Jaycee Paige, Sadie Smith, Mara Hodges, Talynn Williams, Haley Wink.

Palestine: Savannah Alder, Ju’Mija Clewis, Kacie Danchak, Kyi’Marri Ester, Aleeya Grayson, Natalie Guillen, Kristen Harris, Mallory Mitchell, Rylie Schwab, Monique Thompson.

Rusk: Faith Long, Emi Etheridge, Makenna Burkhalter, Carson Trawick, Callie Lynn, Jazz Blankinship, Makayla Dowling, Lexie Stanley, Sarah Boudreaux, Kara Wofford, Isabel Torres.

Jasper: Tytiauna McQueen, Kalani Sells, Jaleiah McDougal, Kiarra Sells, Ka’Dence Taylor, Shacora Reed.