zee tops district

Carthage’s Zee McGrue (10) races a Hudson player for a loose ball in their win at home. McGrue was the District 20-4A MVP and named to the TABC Region III-4A team.

Carthage Lady Bulldog Zee McGrue, along with Gary’s Ryan Ecker, are two area players who were selected to the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches (TABC) All-Region teams for the 2019-2020 basketball season.

McGrue, who has signed to play collegiately at Weatherford College, was a four-year starter for the Lady Bulldogs and was the District 20-4A Most Valuable Player.

As a senior she averaged 17.4 points a game with 7.7 steals, 7.4 assists and 5.6 rebounds a game.

She and teammate Shakaela Pullam were both named to the Texas Girls Coaches Association All-State Team.

Ecker, the District 21-2A MVP, led the Bobcats to the Region III-2A quarterfinals against Shelbyvile.

The junior averaged 20.9 points a game with 4.5 rebounds and 1.9 steals and assists a game.

Other East Texas players honored by the TABC included:


Class 6A, Region II: Malik Henry, Longview.

Class 5A, Region II: Nana Antwi-Baosiako, Nacogdoches; Deonte Jackson, Nacogdoches; Sadaidiene Hall, Sulphur Springs; Cameron Kahn, Sulphur Springs; Jamarion Brown, Mount Pleasant.

Class 4A, Region II: Jeremiah Hoskins, Kilgore; Keyson Ford, Chapel Hill.

Class 3A, Region II: Hunter Allen, Atlanta; Jonathan Blackwell, Arp; Jayden Boyd, Tatum; Daimion Collins, Atlanta; Grayson Driggs, Troup; Chrishon Hicks, Jefferson; Kendric Malone, Tatum; Kylan Thomas, Jefferson.

Class 2A, Region II: Carson Daniels, Union Grove; Joshua Shipman, Big Sandy; Trevor Deel, McLeod; Keldyn Schubert, McLeod.

Class 2A, Region III: Ryan Ecker, Gary; Mike Hogg, Jr., Tenaha; Hayden Jenkins, Tenaha.


Class 5A, Region II: Grace Abercrombie, Jacksonville; Kenya Bates, Mount Pleasant; Alexis Calderon, Jacksonville.

Class 4A, Region III: Zee McGrue, Carthage.

Class 3A, Region II: Essence Allen, Tatum; Alysa Hall, White Oak; Rebekah Crane, Mount Pleasant Chapel Hill; Mason Garrett, Mount Pleasant Chapel Hill.

Class 2A, Region II: Macey Alston, Union Grove; Lynli Dacus, Hawkins; Logan Jaco, Hawkins.