BRYAN — The state champion Carthage Bulldogs dominated voting in the Texas Sports Writers Association Class 4A All-State Football Team released on Thursday with nine selections and the Coach of the Year.

Carthage landed six players on the first team, one on the second team, two honorable mention picks and head coach Scott Surratt was named Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to the Class 4A Division I championship.

The elite team was selected by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and media members from around the state.

Pleasant Grove, which won the Division II title, had a couple of first team selections — including Defensive Player of the Year Landon Jackson.

Surratt led Carthage to a 16-0 record and the program’s seven state title in his 13 seasons at the helm.

Ace Whitehead of Lampasas was named the Offensive Player of the Year after passing for 4,259 yards, 54 touchdowns and six interceptions and rushing for 723 yards and 23 scores.

The Bulldogs handed Pleasant Grove its only regular season loss and beat Lampasas in the state semifinals.

First team offensive players from Carthage were offensive guard Tee Kellum (48 knockdowns, 94 percent grade), receiver Kelvontay Dixon (74 catches, 1,240 yards, 20 touchdowns; 30 carries, 206 yards, 2 TD) and tight end Montrell Smith (28 catches, 279 yards, 4 TD; 90 percent grade, 17 knockdowns).

Joining Jackson on the first team defense are Carthage defensive lineman Quinton Owens (99 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, 11 QB pressures, three passes defended, four forced fumbles, four sacks, two fumble recoveries, one interception), Carthage linebacker Rayvon Ingram (117 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, eight QB pressures, five sacks) and Carthage defensive back Cole Whitlock (101 tackles, four tackles for loss, two QB pressures, two fumble recoveries, one sack, one defensive TD).

Junior quarterback Kai Horton was the Bulldogs’ lone second-team pick.

The Carthage honorable mention picks were senior fullback Brandon McNeely and senior kicker Brennan Phillips.

The Elysian Fields Yellowjackets had four players picked for the Class 3A team with one third-teamer, two honorable mention offensive picks and one HM defensive pick that was released c.

Earning third-team status was offensive guard Justin Kitchen.

Offensive honorable mention picks included quarterback Ryan Wilkerson and running back Christavian Smith.

Linebacker Jackson Illingworth was an honorable mention selection on defense.