Editor's Note: This story has been updated to reflect the correct listings for the Carthage City Commission seats.

Filing for local city and school board seats in the May 2020 elections is finished.

Local candidates who wished to run for school or city office had until Friday, Feb. 14 to fill out paperwork to be placed on the ballot.

The filing period opened Wednesday, Jan. 15.


Three seats are up in May on the Carthage City Commission: Those held by Mayor Lynn Vincent, Commissioner Ida Beck and Commissioner Jerry Hanszen. Beck and Hanszen filed to run again and are unopposed. Mayor Pro Tem Lin Joffrion filed for the mayor seat. He is also unopposed.

Carthage ISD trustees Elzie Hicks and Truman Shirey were the only people to file for those seats, so they will serve another term on the board.


The City of Beckville has four seats open in the May elections: Mayor, Place 1, Place 2 and Place 4. The Place 2 seat was added to the May election because of council member William Morrison’s resignation.

The other seats are currently held by Mayor Gene Mothershed, Place 1’s Cotton Bromley and Place 4’s Christie Moon. The city said Mothershed and Moon have filed to run for re-election, Toni Nixon has filed to run for Place 1 and David Hicks filed to run for Place 2.

Three at-large seats in Beckville ISD are up for election: Places 5, 6 and 7. Those seats are currently filled by Tim Jones, Terry Elliott and Bill Pepper — and all three incumbents have filed to run again. Tiffany Adams has also filed to run for the Place 5 seat, the district said.


Three seats are open on the Gary City Council: Places 3, 4 and 5. Incumbents Philip Baker, Jerri Bolton and Debra Smith are the only ones to have filed for those seats.

Three Gary ISD school board seats are open: Places 1, 2 and 3. Those seats are currently held by Cody Pierce, Stacy Cranford and Chris Gilbert. Incumbents for Place 1’s Cody Pierce and Place 3’s Stacy Cranford filed to run, the district said, as has Sandra Dixon for Place 1 and Zach McBride for Place 2.

County Elections

Panola College trustees Hal Palmer and Fatha Burchette’s terms are up in 2020. Place 5 trustee Fatha Burchette filed to run again and drew no opponent. For the Place 4 seat, incumbent Hal Palmer and challenger Mark A. Roberson have filed to run.

The Panola County Fresh Water Supply District No. 1 will have elections for Precinct 1 currently held by Michael Vanderslice and the at-large position currently held by Barbara Cordell. Barbara Cordell, Douglas Baker and Bubba Brouduas filed to run for the at-large position, the district said, while Michael Vanderslice, David Bush and Bryan Pauley filed to run for the Precinct 1 seat.