Carthage High School’s Technology Students Association took home an eighth place award and installed one of their own as the new Texas TSA President last week at the national conference.

The group’s chapter team, consisting of Christian Tvrdik, Luke Horton, Peyton Jones, Shelby Walters, Nathan Bailey and Mary Katherine Smith, placed 8th out of 69 teams in that competition. Students also competed in the on demand video, technology bowl and technology problem solving categories.

“We worked really hard throughout the school year to prepare for Nationals,” chapter team leader Peyton Jones said. “I am very proud to say that we came home with eighth place.”

The national conference was held in National Harbor, Maryland near Washington, D.C. Middle and high school teams from across the nation participated.

“Seeing the students place eighth in the nation was an amazing feeling,” TSA chapter advisor Julie Patterson. “They have worked incredibly hard all year long, and it was very rewarding to see them achieve such a high honor.”

The 2019-20 Texas TSA state officers were also installed at the national conference. Next year’s Texas TSA President is Carthage High School’s own Mary Katherine Smith, who called the trip to nationals an amazing experience.

“I am so excited to see what the future holds,” Smith said.