Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Ingram earns TSWA 4A Player of the Year honors on offense

By staff
Feb. 8, 2018 at 5:43 p.m.
Updated Feb. 8, 2018 at 5:43 p.m.

Keaontay Ingram runs the ball for Carthage, on Saturday September 23, 2017, during their game with Gilmer at Jeff Traylor Stadium. (Michael Cavazos/News-Journal Photo)

The postseason honors keep pouring in for the Carthage Bulldogs.

Carthage senior Keaontay Ingram, a little more than 24 hours after signing a national letter-of-intent with the University of Texas, was named Class 4A Offensive Player of the Year on Thursday with the release of the 67th annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association All-State Football Team.

Ingram was joined on the first team by Bulldog teammates Nate Brittenham (center), Gunner Capps (quarterback), Mykel Gates (linebacker) and Mekhi Colbert (defensive back). A pair of Bulldogs were named to the second team.

Spring Hill’s Efren Barcenas was a double honoree as a first team punter and honorable mention kicker.

Voting was conducted by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and media members from around the state.

Ingram carried 236 times for 2,325 yards and 37 touchdowns and caught 23 passes for 284 yards and two more scores as Carthage rolled to a 16-0 record to capture its second straight Class 4A Division I state championship.

Capps completed 221 of 343 passes for 3,285 yards, 49 touchdowns and seven interceptions. Brittenham graded out at 93 percent for the season, allowing two sacks in 343 pass attempts and finishing with 52 knockdown blocks.

Gates recorded 165 tackles, 20 tackles for loss, six quarterback pressures, three passes defended, three forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries, an interception, three sacks and one defensive touchdown. Colbert had 43 tackles and seven interceptions for the Bulldogs.

Barcenas was one of the area’s top special teams weapons, averaging 45 yards on 19 punts with a long of 64 yards and three boots placed inside the opponent’s 20-yard line. He was also 61 of 65 on extra point attempts, 3-for-4 on field goal attempts with a long of 35 yards and had 10 touchbacks.

Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Pleasant Grove linebacker Caleb Porchia, who recorded 196 tackles, 14 tackles for loss, 5.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries, an interception, six forced fumbles and seven quarterback pressures for the Division II state champions.

Pleasant Grove’s Josh Gibson was named Coach of the Year.

Second team picks from the area were Carthage offensive tackle Jesse Wayne Pierce, Carthage receiver Dee Bowens and Henderson defensive back Tyrek Blanton.

Kilgore guard Austin Adams and Henderson linebacker De’Braylon Garrett were third team selections.

Earning honorable mention status were Pittsburg offensive tackle Slade Whitson, Spring Hill center Tanner Cornell, Gilmer center Grayson Traylor, Gilmer quarterback Aaron “Poppy” Brown, Henderson quarterback Trae Hall, Spring Hill running back Kiante Stoker, Kilgore running back Briant Mumphrey, Gilmer running back Bran Webb, Spring Hill kicker Barcenas, Kilgore defensive lineman Demorrea Richardson, Kilgore linebackers Nesba Brown and Sebastian Mumphrey, Henderson linebackers Garrett Lybrand and Brady Odom and Kilgore punter Elian Torres.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia