Wednesday, February 21, 2018

East Texans land on TSWA 2A all-state football team

By staff
Feb. 6, 2018 at 6:59 p.m.
Updated Feb. 6, 2018 at 7 p.m.

BRYAN - Tenaha’s C.J. Horn shared Offensive Player of the year honors, and 12 East Texas players landed first team honors on Tuesday with the release of the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 2A All-State Football Team.

Voting was conducted by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and media members from around the state.

Horn, who led the Tigers to a 15-1 record, shared offensive MVP honors with Mart’s Jace Terry. Horn completed 145 of 185 passes fro 2,981 yards, 40 touchdowns and three interceptions while carrying 81 times for 701 yards and 15 touchdowns. Terry completed 122 of 203 passes for 2,267 yards, 33 touchdowns and five interceptions and rushed for 1,018 yards and 18 touchdowns.

Defensive Player of the Year accolades went to Mart defensive back Jermaine Madkins, who recorded 87 tackles, five interceptions and an interception for the state champions.

First team all-state selections from East Texas included Tenaha offensive lineman Chase Lilly (93 percent, 55 pancakes), Tenaha receiver Trai Gardner (64 catches, 1,324 yards, 20 touchdowns; 308 rushing yards, 4 touchdownss); Tenaha running back Onterio Thomas (184 carries, 2,514 yards, 34 touchdowns), Big Sandy all-purpose player Seth Burk (92 carries, 1,444 yards; 24 catches, 608 yards, 28 total touchdowns), Tenaha defensive lineman Jaurmez Brock (137 tackles, 8 sacks, 22 tackles for loss, 15 QB pressures), Tenaha linebacker Tavoris Giles (221 tackles, 10 tackles for loss, 2 interceptions) and Linden-Kildare linebacker Ty Patterson (200 tackles, 23 tackles for loss, 10 forced fumbles, 5 fumble recoveries, 2 interceptions, 3 sacks, 2 blocked kicks).

Earning second team honors from East Texas were Carlilse kick returner Gerald Turner and Linden-Kildare utility player Ja’Kevian Rose.

Big Sandy running back Khameron Pippins of Big Sandy was a third team pick, and honorable mention selections included receiver Jay Price of Carlisle, running back LaDavion Johnson of Linden-Kildare, defensive lineman J.D. Kessler of Union Grove, linebacker Walker Adams of Carlisle and defensive backs Max Jackson of Carlisle, Jacob Owen of Linden-Kildare and Gerald Turner of Carlisle.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia