Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Dream Team: Ten years of East Texas talent

From Staff Reports
Aug. 6, 2017 at 12:15 a.m.

Carthage's Keaontay Ingram and Arp's Demarvion Overshown have a combined 57 FBS Division I offers between them, and if they both hold true to early verbal pledges they'll be teammates at the University of Texas next season.

For now, however, Ingram (Offensive MVP) and Overshown (Defensive MVP) head up another team — one that includes the best of the best from a loaded East Texas region.

Dream Team: MVPs

Dream Team: Offense

Dream Team: Defense

The 10th annual East Texas High School Football Preseason Dream Team consists of players from the combined coverage areas of the Longview News-Journal, Marshall News Messenger, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Texarkana Gazette, Nacogdoches Daily Sentinel and Lufkin Daily News. Charged with selecting the elite team were Jack Stallard, Hayden Henry and George Whitley (Longview) Nathan Hague (Marshall) Chris Parry (Tyler) Josh Richert and Brian Tyl (Texarkana) Kevin Gore (Nacogdoches) and Brandon Ogden (Lufkin).

As the preseason offensive MVP, Ingram joins a list that includes Mineola's Jeremiah Crawford (2016), Tyler Lee's Zach Hall (2015), Sulphur Springs' Larry Pryor (2014), Whitehouse's Patrick Mahomes (2013), John Tyler's Greg Ward (2012), Henderson's Del Barnes (2011), Whitehouse's Trey Metoyer (2010), Cayuga's Traylon Shead (2009) and Sulphur Springs' Tyrik Rollison (2008).

Overshown puts his name in the hat with former defensive MVPs Lagarryon Carson of Liberty-Eylau (2016), Demarco Boyd of Gilmer (2015), Daylon Mack of Gladewater (2014), Josh Walker of Gilmer (2013), DeMarkus Lathan of Longview (2012), Dalton Santos of Van (2011), Steve Edmond of Daingerfield (2010), Ashton Dorsey of John Tyler (2009) and Jamarkus McFarland of Lufkin (2008).



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia