The Texas Preceptor Epsilon Tau chapter of Beta Sigma Phi Sorority held their opening meeting of the year on Aug. 19 at the home of Sandy Payne. Other hostesses included Pam Allison, Barbara Ballenger, Debbie Jernigan and Patricia Smith.

After a delicious salad supper, new handbooks were distributed. President Frances Moore led the group in the opening ritual. The theme for this year is “Power of the Dream.” Secretary Becky Gullette called roll and read previous minutes. The new budget was approved. Service Committee Chairwoman Gayla LaGrone discussed several upcoming projects, including clothes and supplies for Carthage Primary School and food for The Samaritan House.

Correspondence was read and courtesies acknowledged. Vice President Chris Blair announced that rituals for progressing members will be held at the next meeting on Sept. 16. A dinner social is planned Monday, Sept. 9 at Rafter W. Café. The Flamingo Beta Bird prize went to Gayla LaGrone.

Others present were Jean Bunyard, Connie Bush, Nancy Gregg, Sandy Griffin, Judy Holder, Linda Howard, Sharon Ivey, Jo Nell Phillips, Becky Rosenthal and Linda Walkoviak.